Guests' feedback 2016-17

 

We know it’s a bit cringeworthy to blow one’s own trumpet, but here are all the texted answers to our weekly midweek textaround to party leaders to check that all is well. Nothing has been changed or left out:

 

15 February 2017:

  • We are having a great time in Isère. Stig's food is delicious, the chalet is amazing and Sarah and George are looking after us brilliantly.
  • John - everything in Torsai is great, thanks.
  • Hi John La Couchire here, we are having a brilliant time & we love James, Sapphire & Georgia. Special shout out to James for the food and he's a big hit with the kids! Thanks.
  • Having a brilliant time in Les Chardons - the chalet and girls are super.
  • We're having a great time at Les Chardons. Christina and team are terrific and Murray's food is great!
  • All going splendidly at MDR. Scotty's food is outstanding, as always. Izzy is charming and is looking after us all perfectly. And YSE have even managed to arrange perfect weather. Thank you!
  • Bonjour from Pic Noir. Best chalet we've ever stayed in, food even better than we've had with *** in the last 3 years. Hannah is superb!
  • Lovely chalet (squaw valley) and Johanna is great, probably the most conscientious chalet host to date, chalet is kept spotless and food is great.
  • Lauren in chalet la croix is the BEST and just like last year, you guys excel at the food. Wonderful thus far.

 

And here are comments from guests at the end of their holiday:

 

Chalet Les Chardons, January 2017

A note to say quite how fantastic our trip was in January. We stayed in Les Chardons and the staff, the food and the general level of helpfulness and attentiveness was extraordinary. Snowverry for hire cannot be underestimated. I used to stay with YSE when I was 12 years old. I am now 31 and thrilled to report that YSE has only gone from strength to strength. We will definitely be back in 2018. Best to all the team at Les Chardons for the rest of the season, and huge thanks.

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, January 2017

Johanna looked after us beautifully, and her food was excellent. Overall experience very good.

 

Chalet Charlotte, January 2017

Hattie and Laura are both amazing. They make a great team. This was our best experience with YSE.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, January 2017

Highlight of the week - Murray's food!!! Truly amazing, outstanding and the best ever. The chalet girls are smiley and the rooms cleaned and tidied beautifully. Very helpful and supportive.

 

Chalet La Couchire, January 2017

All staff were terrific and very responsive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they all worked really hard. James is an astonishingly good chef and we loved that he seemed to really enjoy his work. Every course was a pleasant surprise. The best ski holiday and the best chef we've had.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, January 2017

The girls were really nice and lots of fun, and the food was fantastic and enjoyed by all. The cakes were particularly excellent and the lemon tart a big favourite. We had an excellent time and wouldn't change a thing.

 

Chalet des Pistes, January 2017

Lucy looked after us very well, she is very obliging and keen to help where she could, joining in our 'lively discussions', great fun. This is the best food we have had after several YSE holidays. The variety is excellent and Lucy took on board that we didn't like spicy food, and also made a special pudding. La Vielle Maison was excellent for the night off, and up to the usual good standard. The hill up to the chalet is brutal and we think YSE should invest in a magic carpet up to the chalet. But really it was the best of many ski holidays yet.

 

Chalet de Pierre, January 2017

Snowberry are good and very helpful but expensive. Lucia kept our chalet very clean and Adrian was also great, the food was excellent and we were in awe of the beef en croute. It was like eating in a restaurant every night. Nothing to improve - your company clearly runs very well!

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, January 2017

This was our best ski holiday yet, and we've had a lot. Snowberry were excellent - it runs like a military operation and the collection is great and one less hassle for guests. Steph from Pro-Snowboarding was highly recommended, and the ESF were good too. Alex kept the chalet very clean and was always willing to help. The girls were brilliant fun and very pleasant. All the food was excellent. They catered for the celiac in our group very well.

 

Chalet La Croix, January 2017

Lauren is absolutely amazing, a star. Jo stood in for her one day at the last moment, and also did a fabulous job. Lauren's cooking is fantastic. The belly pork, duck, Tuscan chicken - it was all fabulous. Driver Bertie was brilliant.

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, January 2017

This was our best-ever holiday. Super, just super. Obviously, the perfect weather and wonderful skiing helped, but everything was fabulous in the chalet. Tom is a very good chef and he works very hard to serve delicious, interesting food. Millie keeps the chalet absolutely spotless. She and Tom let the youngster in our party help (she's going to be a YSE chalet girl in 2030!), and were lovely with her. Skiing with two of our staff was an absolute highlight. Oxygène were brilliant for instruction, particularly Massimo for nervous adults and Deirdre for children. Also good for equipment. The Casa Scara is very good at the moment.

 

Chalet La Maison du Rocher, January 2017

Our first YSE holiday, but it won't be the last. The chalet is lovely. Scotty is an amazing chef. His food is excellent, just delicious. The duck, steak, pork belly beef cheek, salmon, Thai chicken - it was all perfectly cooked, with such tender meat, and beautifully presented. His kitchen is OCD spotless! Georgia is lovely, delightful, so attentive, so good at cleaning and so pretty! (This from a lady.) Both staff are charming, hard-working, skilled and fun. Snowberry is brilliant. The Lodge, Cascade and Sachette were all excellent restaurants and good value.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, January 2017

What a great holiday! Sam is a very talented chef, a gifted cook who will go a long way, although he is extremely modest and unassuming. He is more relaxed and confident than last year, and his food was even better! His various eggs at breakfast were superb, he knocked duck out of the park, his steak, his raspberry crème brûlée - everything was delicious. Particularly the YSE wine. Lucy is adorable and fabulous, smiley, attentive, incredibly organised - just the best ever! The chalet is spotless and her dynamic with Sam works very well. She keeps him in line! Marcus and Bertie are such charming, willing, flexible drivers, and Alex came immediately to sort out the wifi.

 

Chalet d'Isère, January 2017

Stig is a wonderful chef, so so good - everything was delicious. Ella and Vicky are lovely and keep the chalet spotless. An incredible week - such fun!

 

Chalet Thomily, January 2017

I have been skiing (badly) for about 40 years and about 65 ski holidays (downhill and ski touring) in the Alps and Americas in all but I have a special fondness for Val (9 visits since 1990) and YSE. I love your chalets and they have all been excellent. In fact it gets better every year. This year in particular was notable for the efficient (and entertaining) journey from Gatwick to Val, the beautiful chalet (Thomily) and the excellence of the staff: 'Eva', an accomplished cook who needs special commendation and 'Ella' her assistant who was equally delightful, vivacious and charming. They are very talented and sociable and are a credit to YSE. Please thank them on our behalf - although we did so at the time. They made our stay exceptionally enjoyable.

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, January 2017

Our fifth YSE holiday and it just gets better and better! We had several chalet girls over the week because the flu was decimating everyone, but appreciated the YSE policy of replacing any ill staff before they passed it on to the guests (none of us contracted flu). Everything was top notch. All the food was first class and all the girls lovely. A pair of boots bought in the UK turned out to be the wrong size. Snowberry's entire boot-fitting team worked on them for 40 minutes, decided they couldn't be redeemed and gave us a much better pair free for the week. This was typical of the extra mile attitude we encountered all week.

 

Chalet Charlotte, January 2017

What a fantastic week! The chalet is so nice now with its new bedroom and bathrooms. Lara and Hattie are brilliant, and Lara is a superb cook. We loved her beef en croute, chicken, scotch quails' eggs, risotto, carrot cake - actually everything! And Hattie is lovely and keeps the chalet absolutely spotless!

 

Chalet Les Chardons, January 2017

A wonderful week, superb staff, all charming, efficient and willing to find out anything they don't already know. Fantastic food. Great chef. The girls were quite outstanding - their personal touch and ability to remember names were extraordinary! I could have eaten more, but probably shouldn't!

 

Chalet Thomily, January 2017

Snowberry very efficient. In the chalet Ella was fantastic, smiley, interactive and made a huge effort. Eva's food was good all week and she was very good at accommodating different diets. We loved the croissants on the table for the day off. Chalet was really nice and tidy and we had a lovely stay.

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, January 2017

The food was fantastic, it could have been a Michilin star chalet, it's the nicest food we’ve had. On the day off we just wanted a dirty burger because we didn’t think we could get any better than the chalet food.

Loved Jessie and Anna, both very natural and welcoming, always friendly, and the chalet was very clean almost to the point of OCD. Loved it.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, January 2017

The chalet staff are chirpy and very helpful, particularly at the end of the week. The food is excellent and well-portioned and timings for the meals is good, though the dining room can feel crowded. The breakfast bar is a big hit and the lounge is great with good games for the kids.

 

Chalet des Pistes, January 2017

This is a lovely chalet and Lucy runs it marvellously. She is terrific and she suited her food to the children, keeping it a bit simpler and less spicy for them, the portion sizes were smack on and all in all it was perfect. We didn't have a favourite dish - we loved them all. The fire is amazing - it draws so well!

 

Chalet des Neiges, January 2017

We have been to this chalet several times before because we love it. It was particularly good this time. Megan assisted by Georgie keep it spotless and the food from Christian is fantastic, absolutely delicious - certainly as good as we've ever had. He was catering for vegetarians and meat eaters, and we all loved his cooking. His puddings are quite a work of art, and all of his presentation is beautiful. We had lessons from Oxygène. Federico was very good but Andrea was absolutely amazing.

 

Chalet Charlotte, January 2017

Lara and Catherine were absolutely lovely and ran the chalet brilliantly. Lara is a great chef and the food was amazing. Her slow cooked beef cheek and salmon were particularly good.

 

Chalet Pic Noir, January 2017

It's a lovely lovely chalet, and Hannah and Amy run it beautifully. They are both very good, spot-on, helpful and lovely but not in your face. The food is absolutely superb. It's all very good, though particular favourites were the duck and the gnocchi.

 

Chalet Ptarmigan, January 2017

It's a gorgeous chalet and we've had a wonderful time. Flora is an excellent chef - calm, reassuring and really nice, and her food was brilliant. We particularly enjoyed the beef cheek but everything was great. Ellie keeps the place spotless, she's chatty and fun and entertaining, and we so appreciated her creative loo roll folding that we sent photos to our own cleaner who is also a competitive loo roll folder so that they could compare notes! We had excellent meals at the Fruitière and Edelweiss of course, but also at the Corniche.

 

Chalet Perdrix, January 2017

Kate and Catherine were absolutely brilliant with the children. They played with them, they were extremely tolerant, they adapted their menus, they even left the sprinkles so that the children could put them on the cakes before eating them! The cakes were all delicious and favourite main courses were the duck, the slow-cooked beef cheek and the salmon with couscous. The chalet is absolutely gorgeous though you probably need to move the lamp over the coffee table because it bashes people on the head! We put our children into the Village des Enfants, one in the Crèche, one in the Garderie, and the kids were incredibly happy. One went to the Jardin d'Enfants with the ESF, and had a great time. The instructors were very attentive and loving. One of them noticed that one of the girls needed bigger gloves for instance. She was very happy and made rapid progress.

 

Chalet des Pentes, January 2017

A wonderful week. Jo and Harriet are a lovely team, work very hard and get on with each other so well. The atmosphere they create is perfect. The food was amazing, probably the best food I have ever eaten anywhere in my life! It was very varied and all of it was lovely. The holiday could not have been better, though it's probably worth advising the future guests to walk on the snow beside the road up the hill.

 

Chalet La Couchire, January 2017

This was an absolutely brilliant week with the most amazing food and lovely staff in a beautiful, spotless chalet. It was a top restaurant meal every night and we can't praise James and Sapphire enough. Nothing was too much trouble, the atmosphere was great, and we will be back.

 

Chalet La Croix, January 2017

We had our happiest holiday ever with Lauren and her lovely food in that sweet chalet. We watched our fie-year-old daughter learn to ski with Claire from tdc ski school. Every aspect of the holiday has been thought-out and beautifully organised.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, January 2017

We have been going on chalet holidays together for 21 years and have never experienced such a lovely chalet, such charming staff, unbelievable food that Sam the very talented chef serves, your helpful friendly drivers, and all the other aspects which made this our best holiday ever.

 

Chalet Ptarmigan, December 2016

I would be very grateful if you would pass on our sincerest thanks to Flora an Ellie for a wonderful stay in Chalet Ptarmigan over Christmas. Flora’s professionalism, passion and enthusiasm in the kitchen was very much appreciated by us all as we enthusiastically tucked into her beautifully prepared food. Ellie’s housekeeping and hosting skills were superb, as she effortlessly kept the chalet in great order always greeting us with a smile with nothing being too much trouble. Our thanks must also go to those behind the scenes, who keep the machine running and constantly strive to deliver the best for their guests. We look forward to staying with YSE again and wish you a very successful skiing season.

 

Chalet Vieux Crêt, December 2016

We didn't go to ski school but the non-skier in our group went on a 90-minute snowshoe walk booked through Killy Sport and loved it and really recommends it. The chalet was brilliantly clean, we loved the fire. Both Tom and Alex are exceptionally friendly! Bertie the driver is excellent and always very accommodating. The food was excellent - even better than expected and we missed Tom on our day-off! We also love the Crêperie near the Tourist Office - thoroughly recommended!

 

Chalet La Maison du Rocher, December 2016

The chalet was unbelievably clean. Georgia is great - very attentive and makes amazing fires. Scottie is great but quite shy - needs to come out of his shell more!!! Best ever food, beyond amazing. It was less rich than previous years and really outstanding. Portion sizes are perfect and we loved the veg on the side. Bertie is a good driver, very attentive, punctual and charming! For eating out we recommend L'Etable d'Alain for the night off, and the Ferme des Trois Capucines in Tignes which is excellent. Les Tufs and Bananas are great for cheaper options. All brilliant!

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, December 2016

The holiday was amazing and fabulous. We really noticed how clean the chalet was in the kitchen and generally around the chalet. Lucy is fantastic - discreet but attentive and seemed to know what we wanted before we did! Lucy and Sam work well as a team, and the food was excellent. Sam coped well with vegan and GF diets. He should write a recipe book! We loved the pork belly, goats' cheese with beetroot starter, soups, blackberry sorbet, raspberry crême brulée and beef cheek. Lewis is a great driver, very safe, and went beyond the call of duty, sometimes out of his normal hours. Really impressed.

 

Chalet d'Isère, December 2016

Snowberry were excellent for ski hire - all ordered online. Instructor Simon McCombe from Mountain Masters as good as ever. Stig the chef's food at the chalet was excellent, probably even better than two years ago in Juniper. He's very accommodating and understanding - we really loved it. Chalet host Lulu brightened up every room she walked into. Both girls are very attentive and kept everything clean - not easy in such a big chalet with so many floors. Overall loved the chalet and had a great holiday.

 

Chalet Charlotte, December 2016

This is a great little chalet and in such a good position! Lara and Catherine are perfect and looked after us very well. The chalet could not be cleaner and the food was excellent. Lara is a very good cook, an excellent hostess and very good company.

 

Chalet Ptarmigan, December 2016

Best chalet staff we've ever had! The food was brilliant. Ellie was very helpful and went above and beyond with the dietary requirements for children's food.

 

Chalet Pic Noir, December 2016

Fantastic week over all - lovely chalet, staff superb, excellent food (best chalet food we've had). We thought it was very good having a separate check-in at Gatwick.

 

Chalet Chardons, December 2016

Used Snowberry, Snow Sports and Killy for ski hire - highly recommended and extremely helpful. Also ESF (Eric, Claude and Jean-Luc), Alpine Experience, Oxygene and New Gen for private, off-piste and one-to-one lessons. All really good. The chalet staff made the holiday, they are so attentive, helpful, chatty and knowledgeable. Murray's food is superb, great portion sizes and variety. The salmon, pork and cakes are the highlights this week. Chardons is in a brilliant location.

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, December 2016

It's been an absolutely brilliant week, and with our group the chalet staff really had their work cut out! Hattie keeps the chalet spotless and is a superb girl, and Jonny's food is fantastic, superb. Our favourites were the duck, beef, absolutely awesome canapés, but everything was just brilliant.

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, December 2016

What a wonderful week. Everything was spot on. Johanna is a brilliant chalet girl, her food very good indeed, she kept the chalet spotless and even came in early on New Year's moring because they wanted to benefit from the empty slopes. She was generally flexible, efficient and lovely.

 

Chalet de Pierre, December 2016

It was a fabulous week. The chalet is lovely, its position perfect and it was kept extraordinarily clean. We were looked after amazingly well and the service was impeccable. The food was really, really good. We had chef Adrian last year and whilst he was very good then, he is even better now! And Lucia is a brilliant assistant.

 

Chalet La Couchire, December 2016

We've had a fabulous week, and the several very disperate groups got on marvellously. It's a lovely chalet, the food was absolutely outstanding, the chalet was spotless and the girls amazing.

 

Chalet des Neiges, December 2016

We had a lovely holiday in Val d'Isère! Particularly impressed with Christian (cook!), and Megan and Harriet who looked after us so well.

 

 

Guests' feedback 2015-16

 

Chalet La Croix, April 2016

Flora is a lovely girl and a brilliant chef - YSE are lucky to have her! This was the second time this season we've stayed with her. The food as always is a very high standard and we loved experiencing Flora's fabulous food again!

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, April 2016

Our chalet staff were a brilliant team and couldn't have done enough. Nothing was too much hassle and they were second to none. Polly is lovely and Nick is a phenomenal chef and his food was out of this world. We preferred the meals in our chalet to anywhere else we ate during the week. The children's meals were great too, and our overall favourite was the beef wellington. A first class holiday.

 

Chalet La Maison du Rocher, April 2016

This was our best chalet holiday ever. Scottie and Emma were awesome and as always the food was incredible and Scottie's presentation amazing. We're coming back next year!

 

Chalet Thomily, April 2016

Jo and Kate are an exceptional team, the best ever chalet staff, and really lovely girls. Jo's food was exquisite! Our favourites were the chicken salad, onion tart, and the salmon main course. The holiday was amazing value.

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, April 2016

Both Jessie and Hannah are lovely. It was a brilliant holiday, everything was excellently organised and the chalet was very tidy. The food was delicious: everything was incredible, but the best meal of the week was the beef!

 

Chalet La Moraine, April 2016

Our chalet staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful. Edie is incredibly kind and we felt really well looked after. They were both great with the children. Tom's food was top notch and the best chalet food we've ever had. The kids' food was great too!

 

Chalet Bozzetto, April 2016

All good. Jenny was delightful. We loved that there wasn't a TV! It was a great week and we've already booked for next year.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, April 2016

Typical YSE, the chalet staff were first class and exactly as you'd imagine. The food was wonderful. We also like Jason our driver - he's very attentive and picked us up from wherever we needed.

 

Chalet de Pierre, April 2016

Adrian and Anna were the best chalet team in 8 years of coming with YSE!

 

Chalet La Couchire, April 2016

Top score! The chalet staff were all lovely, but the food was absolutely amazing. We gave Murray carte blanche to do what he wanted and he excelled. Even better than last year, we're very happy and will be back!

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, April 2016

I would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to YSE for a fabulous skiing holiday last week. A personal thank you to Fiona for accommodating my party in chalet Grand Torsai after my initial booking was moved. The chalet was beautiful, spacious and comfortable. The views were breath taking and access to the slopes in Le Fornet just perfect. The hot tub was luxury after a long day's skiing and again thoroughly appreciated. We did not use the sauna on our visit.

 

The YSE staff, Lucy and Joey, were great hosts and looked after us all very well. Both were friendly, pleasant and accommodated our needs. The food, as always from YSE, was excellent and very enjoyable and the wine was much appreciated with the evening meal. The family who shared Grand Torsai with my party were great company and both parties got on well all week and we shared many laughs together.

 

Le Fornet is a beautiful little hamlet, very peaceful and relaxing and Val d'Isere was also very accessible either by a walk or the free bus shuttle. The skiing in Le Fornet is great, we loved the wide slopes, beautiful views and not too busy slopes. Overall my party were very impressed with Grand Torsai and would definitely stay in that chalet again.

 

Please also pass on our thanks to John, because the organisation for the pick up from Grenoble to Val d'Isere and back was excellent and we loved his information speech relayed on the coach. We will certainly return.

 

Thanks again for everything - yet again a holiday to remember and definitely another visit - YSE look after their guests so well they spoil us to the extent you do not want to go anywhere else to ski.

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, April 2016

Our chalet staff couldn't have done more - very good, very attentive, really 1st class. Polly was lovely and Harry was brilliant. Great variety of food throughout the week and Nick was happy to help and listened to any preferences we had. We love the sitting room - very staisfied customers!

 

Chalet La Maison du Rocher, April 2016

Everything was perfect and we couldn't have had a better week. Our chalet staff were brilliant and so eager to please. We've now stayed with Scotty for 12 years - still up to his old tricks - and Emma kept the chalet the cleanest we've ever seen. The standard of cooking that Scotty sets is still very high - excellent all week.

 

Chalet Thomily, April 2016

Jo and Kate are amazing - the best ever chalet staff and an exceptional team. We felt lucky to have them. Jo's food is incredible and we couldn't have asked for more. Beef, salmon, poached eggs and everything else!

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, April 2016

This was a brilliant holiday. The chalet was very tidy, the girls were lovely and it was excellently organised. In the kitchen Jessive is unphased, every meal was amazing. We had an amazing holiday a couple of years ago and Jessie somehow managed to surpass our previous experience.

 

Chalet La Moraine, April 2016

Our chalet staff were really good and couldn't have been more helpful. Edie is an incredibly kind soul and looked after us, while Tom's dancing was a highlight. He's also the best chef we've ever had on a chalet holiday. Our favourites were everything but the parkoras were a massive highlight.

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, April 2016

We thought Gee was excellent and she took really good care of us. We've been before and knew what to expect. The slick transfers make YSE stand out (we've been frustrated by other companies...). A great week.

 

Les Chardons, April 2016

The location of Les Chardons is fantastic, and we're impressed that the bathrooms have been refurbished. The staff are brilliant, very attentive and accommodating - we liked them all. The food was amazing all week, really restaurant standard. We came back because of the food, and it was even better than last year. Overall superb - we'll be back.

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, March 2016

The chalet staff were first class and we couldn't ask for more. The food was superb all week, Joey is a very good chef and everything he served was incredible, but our favourite was the beef wellington.

 

Chalet de Pierre, March 2016

This couldn't have been a better week. Our staff were perfect, really eager to please and discrete at the same time. The food differentiates YSE from its competitors. Adrian is incredible and the food was very professional, beautifully presented and delicious. A fantastic holiday.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, March 2016

YSE is the gold standard in ski holidays, so it's been an excellent week and we had a great time. Your staff are amazing and Jason is very friendly and personable and an all-round great guy. The food is why we return every year, and Sam didn't disappoint this time round. We wish we could take him home, everything was excellent.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, March 2016

Jenny is incredible and everything was delicious, the chalet was very tidy, the weather and snow were good and it was an amazing holiday. YSE is a great company and runs an efficient operation.

 

Chalet La Couchire, March 2016

Our chalet staff were a wonderful team, very professional and helpful and there was never a hiccough. Our chef was first class and the food was brilliant especially the HOT Thai night. A perfect holiday, thank you YSE!

 

Chalet Charlotte, March 2016

I really wanted to let you know how amazing both Freya and Ione were looking after us in chalet Charlotte when we came to stay a couple of weeks ago. I was expecting good service to be fair, but they truly went above and beyond and I could not believe the quality of Freya’s food especially considering she hasn’t had a huge amount of catering experience. They were just lovely, extremely hospitable and really made a difference to our holiday. The whole experience was fantastic from making the booking, taking the flight, the transfer and staying at the chalet. Incredible value for money. I can see why you have such a huge number of returning guests, we shall certainly be returning! Please pass our feedback onto the ladies.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, March 2016

Thank you for the most perfect holiday. I know when we book with YSE it's going to be an amazing holiday, everything has been thought out from the hassle free airport timings, arrivals, John's meet and greet, his amusing, detailed useful speech on the coach, your professional helpful staff at all times, beautiful food!! What more can I say! We have tried most ski resorts as friends have told us we were boring going to the same resort, we have had crack of dawn starts, hours at check-in, no-one turning up for hours on landing, staff that were unhelpful, unclean worn out accommodation, the cooking has been dry, burnt or not even arrived!!! Won't name these unprofessional companies!!! We've been using YSE for approx 20 yrs+ and recommended you to all our friends. Thank you for being no 1 company in the Alps. There's a lot of effort and thought put into every little detail, thank you all (including the booking team!!). We will definitely try to come back next year with enough to fill a chalet. Our chalet team and drivers were perfect, thank you again.

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, March 2016

As ever we had a fantastic holiday with YSE and everything went like clockwork. It is worth mentioning that the couple who ran our chalet, Alice and Nick, were exemplary. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them and the cooking was first rate. I would also mention Jamie who was the very willing driver of the Landrover and, again, nothing was too much trouble for him. They were all a credit to you.

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, March 2016

Our two YSE staff were excellent; thoughtful and well-qualified. I have to say it was a big change from A N Other operator! Please pass our thanks to the team in the chalet.

 

Chalet La Croix, March 2016

Flora took very good care of us and was willing and helpful and did exceptionally well given her experience. We've been coming with YSE for 10 years and there's nothing Flora could have done to have given us a better week. YSE is streets ahead of a holiday we had with ---- ------ in January when YSE was fully booked!

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, March 2016

Alice and Nick are phenomenal. The chalet was really clean and tidy and the beds are fab - the best we've ever slept on in the mountains! Guy and Harry our drivers are both such gentlemen. The food is some of the best we've ever had in a chalet. One member of our party normally doesn't like fish but the salmon was cooked so perfectly she loved it! They also looked after someone with diet intollerances - really appreciated. Breakfast was excellent and we loved the beef Wellington and the ham dish... we'd come back just for that! YSE's quality and level of service are just excellent.

 

Chalet La Maison du Rocher, March 2016

Scotty and Emma are a great team. The food was awesome, and the skiing perfect!

 

Chalet La Moraine, March 2016

Fantastic chalet staff, the chalet was spotless. We liked that they were flexible with timings. Tom and Edie would make a good couple! The food was really good and the presentation was excellent - even took photos! We were very impressed with the peanut parfait as well as the duck and the pork. Also YSE were really helpful with the injury in our group.

 

Chalet Thomily, March 2016

Jo and Kate were excellent and the food perfect, 10 out of 10. Our favourites were the pork, salmon and beef wellington.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, March 2016

Your chalet staff are first class, very friendly, polite and helpful. Katy and Holly do a great job, Becky very friendly, and Helena very sweet and always makes an effort - really charming. The food was consistently fantastic and a real effort was put into the veggie food served. The food and location make up for the size of the bedrooms. We loved the restaurant vibe and the canapé room!

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, March 2016

The chalet is more spacious than we expected. Gee was great and like a member of the family. The food was good and we couldn't possibly pick a favourite - it was all nice. We will definitely be back!

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, March 2016

Our chalet staff were delightful and helpful. The food was really delicious and the chalet very hard to fault.

 

Chalet La Couchire, March 2016

Christina and Lauren were brilliant and helpful. They complement each other very well and are both wonderful. The food was amazing and also flexible. Breakfasts are great, and we enjoyed the beef, salmon, duck, strudel, carrot cake, green Thai curry and pork. We love the chalet location - overall a great week.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, March 2016

Annabel was superb, accommodating, delicous food, fantastic! Our chalet food was great considering we asked for gluten-free and egg-free - thank you.

 

Chalet de Pierre, March 2016

The staff in our chalet were charismatic and exceptional. We loved Anna and Adrian and also Becky! We want to book the chalet again next year - it was spotless!

 

Chalet Charlotte, March 2016

Hannah and Ione are both great fun. Hannah's food is amazing and Ione kept the chalet beautifully. It's been a faultless holiday - everything spot on!

 

Chalet Jacaranda, March 2016

Jacaranda is a great little chalet, it's been a fab holiday. Freya is incredible and such a good cook - I can't believe my sister can cook like that now! Also Ross from New Gen was the best instructor we've ever had.

 

Chalet Juniper, March 2016

We've had a brilliant week! Stig is a brilliant, brilliant chef, his food is unbelievable, and Emma and Lucy were lovely. See you next year!

 

Chalet des Pistes, March 2016

Everything was perfect! Chloe was great, kept the chalet spotless and served delicious food.

 

Chalet des Neiges, March 2016

Josh is an exceptional and amazing chef and such a perfectionist. We loved every single meal, the fantastic starters and incredible canapés, and Mrs Yates-Smith's marmalade is gorgeous! Lara and Daisy are lovely girls and kept the chalet impeccable. They even arrange the loo rolls beautifully! A fabulous holiday.

 

Chalet des Pentes, March 2016

A wonderful holiday - Tori's food really couldn't have been better and Polly is lovely, helpful and kept the chalet spotless.

 

Chalet Jasmine, March 2016

Our chalet girl Annabel was great and we really enjoyed her food - our favourite was the beef. A really great holiday.

 

Chalet Juniper, March 2016

Stig's food was excellent and we appreciated how flexible he was. Emma and Lucy were very helpful, attentive and approachable. An enjoyable week!

 

Chalet La Couchire, March 2016

Christina and Lauren could not have been more helpful if they tried, they were extremely helpful. Murray’s food was great with our favourites being the carrot cake, duck and beef, but all the food was fantastic. We though the presentation of the food was outstanding and effortless. Best chef ever. We had the most delightful holiday - much better than (...) and (..... ....)!

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, March 2016

Joey and Lucy were lovely and very friendly and couldn’t do more to help. Joey is very professional in the kitchen.

 

Chalet Charlotte, March 2016

Freya and Iona made a good team. The rooms were very tidy and the food was excellent. It was a brilliant holiday.

 

Chalet des Pistes, March 2016

Chloe was great! Clean rooms, phenomenal service, very good food and we enjoyed every meal!

 

Chalet La Maison du Rocher, March 2016

Super staff, excellent team and the chalet was very clean. The food was unbelievable and the presentation of every meal was first class. It was an amazing holiday all round. YSE are an excellent company and we'll be back next year.

 

Chalet La Croix, March 2016

Flora is an absolute star, a real sweetheart with our children and her food was amazing especially the pork belly and the banana cake. A first class holiday. Jason the driver is a legend and very personable.

 

Chalet des Neiges, March 2016

Our girls Lara and Daisy were excellent and responded to all requests. The chalet was spotless and the atmosphere was lovely. Josh's food was the best ever - he is an asset to the company and definitely works too hard. No favourites - everything was incredible.

 

Chalet des Pentes, March 2016

It was a fantastic week thanks to the chalet staff, Tori and Polly are an excellent team. You can never fault YSE's food, it was top notch.

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, March 2016

Great holiday. We had a wonderful team in our chalet, Alice is a sweetheart and the rooms were very clean. Nick's food was excellent, the cakes were amazing and the canapés every night were phenomenal.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, March 2016

Jenny was excellent and very well organised. This is our third time to Bozzetto and each time was good but this time Jenny was the best. Her food was fantastic, good cakes, the chocolate fondant was amazing and Jenny's creme brulée was so good we had it every evening and again at breakfast - we'd come back just for the creme brulée! We were already impressed with John who was very helpful with our injury, and even the insurance company commented how well the flights had been organised.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, March 2016

Charlotte and Juey were great and helpful at booking tables for us and they kept the rooms and the chalet really clean and tidy. We appreciated the little details that make a difference. We LOVE driver Jason - he's so patient and cheery! Unbelievable food - best ever on a ski holiday. Breakfast was streets ahead of our previous experience and we appreciated the flexibility and accommodating approach. The wine was good too. An excellent holiday - we were impressed with the whole experience.

 

Chalet Thomily, March 2016

We were very well looked after by Jo and Kate who did a great job.

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, March 2016

Our chalet and staff Jessie and Hannah were the best we've ever had. Really helpful and nice people, and a marked difference from our last holiday in St Anton! The food was absolutely great though possibly too much of it. The Asian stew was a winner but there was no 'dud' day - it was all so good.

 

Chalet La Moraine, March 2016

The chalet was amazing and we loved the showers! The food was outstanding - we loved the beef Wellington, salted caramel ice cream and the strawberry sorbet. We enjoyed the recording on the bus - it was definitely useful. YSE in general make the holiday really easy by being so flexible. When are you opening in Meribel?!

 

Chalet Les Chardons, March 2016

This was an amazing holiday, as ever. Love the position and the relaxed ambiance at Les Chardons. The food is as good as ever. Scottish is an incredible chef producing food of such quality for 40 or so guests, and Kate managed the chalet beautifully.

 

Chalet Jacaranda, March 2016

Everything was amazing. We can't believe how good one of your entry-level chalets could be. Hannah's food was exceptional - much better than the food in some friends' chalet (not YSE!) which was like the sort of dinner party one of your mates might knock up! This was constantly restaurant-standard food. Actually better than restaurant standard - she is an awesome chef. It was all wonderful, but if pressed the pork belly, risotto, beef canapés and gnocchi were particularly memorable. Ex-YSE ski guide Al from Mountain Masters took us for a fabulous off piste session. What a skier! What a bloke!! Bar Jacques was totally chaotic, and ran out of both steak and chips!! We'd also like to mention how good the free bus service is until gone 2am...

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, March 2016

Everyting was perfect. Gee was lovely and her food is spot-on!

 

Chalet de Pierre, March 2016

The chalet is gorgeous, its position fabulous with a lift and a ski run just outside. This was the best chalet and our best chalet holiday in 41 years of chalets! The lift indoors and even glove warmers were much appreciated, too. Adrian is a lovely fellow, and his food is faultless. Everything he cooked was delicious and beautifully presented. Anna kept the chalet absolutely spotless. She has a lovely manner, and she and Adrian were the perfect hosts.

 

Chalet des Neiges, March 2016

Josh, Lara and Daisy were fabulous and as YSE customers are all of a similar type we had a great time with 12 complete strangers !!! Thanks for the top tip about Richard Harrison. My husband's skiing improved dramatically and hopefully he'll be doing the epaule next time.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, March 2016

Excellent team, lovely girls, they were very helpful and the rooms were immaculate. You cannot fault the food, it was incredible. The food at YSE distinguishes it from every other company. Good house wine too! Portion sizes for some of the women were large but when a half portion was requested it was quickly looked after. Great holiday!

 

Chalet Juniper, March 2016

Stig, Becky and Emma are a brilliant team. Great atmosphere, very helpful, it was the best chalet holiday ever. Stig's cooking is fabulous, best ever chalet food, the steak was amazing!!!!

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, March 2016

We loved Squaw Valley, and top marks all round for Gee!

 

Chalet Charlotte, March 2016

Ione has great attention to detail and Freya is an amazing cook and we are amazed she can serve such food in such a tiny kitchen. Also they were extremely helpful in organising lessons and restaurants.

 

Chalet Jacaranda, March 2016

Sport 2000 over the road are very good, and better value than precision who we used last year. We went back and changed our boots three times which was no problem. In the chalet Hannah was lovely and had a good knowledge of the slopes that was very helpful. The food was great - the first night soup, gnocchi and pork belly were the best! The chalet is retro but good. The transfer is really well organised.

 

Chalet La Couchire, March 2016

Lauren looked very comfortable and at ease in the chalet for somebody who had recently arrived. She and Kristina are the perfect hosts and know when to interact and when not. Both are very polite and Lauren is a natural. The food was incredible and the best food we've ever had in a chalet.

 

Chalet La Croix, March 2016

Our only complaint is that Flora won't come home with us! YSE cookbook please! Brace yourself... we loved: Victoria sponge, carrot cake, brownies, chocolate cake, orange cake, banana cake, duck, chicken, salmon, beef fillet, pork belly, ham, sticky toffee pudding, poached pear, pineapple fritters, blackcurrant parfait, chocolate souffle, panacotta, walnut stilton salad, goats cheese salad, carrot soup, mackerel paté, camembert, beef filo, scotch quails eggs, beetroot potato cake, asparagus filo!!!

 

Chalet des Pistes, March 2016

This was our 18th holiday with YSE. Chloe is an excellent chef - the professional chef in our party was seriously impressed. We bought wine from your wine list which were good. Over all a very good week.

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, March 2016

Chalet and staff, great team, very neat and tidy and the food was a very high standard and beautifully presented. The beef en croute was a favourite and the dauphinoise potatoes were great, also the duck was exellent and the salmon perfectly cooked.

 

Chalet La Maison du Rocher, March 2016

Scotty and Emma make a great team and she knows how to keep him in hand. Scotty's food is absolutely excellent and we were very impressed how he dealt with all our self-confessed 'quirks'. 5 stars - all so good, a wonderful week.

 

Chalet des Neiges, March 2016

Lara in our chalet was really good, and she was very helpful in organising our ski lessons. Both girls were really super, relaxed and very attentive - top rate! The food was outstanding - Josh is an extremely accomplished chef and his food was better than most restaurants and definitely the best food we've had in a chalet - phenomenal! We would have liked to stay another week just to have all the food all over again. Overall a double thumbs-up for the whole week. As a whole operation YSE has it spot on from start to finish.

 

Chalet des Pentes, March 2016

The girls were extremely helpful and polite and absolutely spot-on. Tori is a very talented cook - we want to take her home with us.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, March 2016

Fab. Jen is lovely and her food absolutely delicious. Her cakes were wonderful and she kept the chalet spotless. Our favourites were the boeuf en croute, chicken, pork belly, lemon drizzle cake and the banana bread.

 

Chalet La Moraine, March 2016

Tom's food is really good with lots of variety and some very interesting things we'd not eaten before, like duck tamarind and the cauliflower canapés. Lucy was organised and efficient with the cleaning and joined in with all the fun. A brilliant week!

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, March 2016

We had a great holiday. Jessie's food is soooooo good!! We've all put on a stone. Hannah was lovely, always smiling and helpful and kept the chalet really clean.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, March 2016

Sam is impeccable, incredible and we wanted to take him home. His food is just wonderful and he handled the coeliac diet brilliantly without any fuss (by the way both Spars now have a good selection of gluten-free basics: bread, crackers etc). Our favourites were the beef wellington, pear and blue cheese salad, soups, lemon drizzle cake, the breakfasts, the most perfect poached eggs - absolutely everything. Juliet and Charlotte were adorable and kep the chalet perfectly. Also the beds are amazingly comfortable. We loved driver Jason because he's a gentleman! Overall a superb holiday.

 

Chalet Thomily, March 2016

Brilliant holiday. Jo is a fantastic chef and all of her food was absolutely amazing. We loved the house wines, particularly the Cotes du Rhone and Jacquere. Both girls were charming and very professional and Kate kept the chalet spotless.

 

Chalet La Couchire, March 2016

We wanted to pass on some feedback for our stay at Couchire last week. We have now been on a few YSE trips and always found the standards to be very high compared to lots of other operators we have tried and this is probably why you have such a loyal customer base. However our stay last week with Cristina, Lauren & Murray reached a new amazing high. The team provided for our every need, always anticipating our requirements and certainly know how to achieve excellent customer service levels. (They would make for an excellent training & development team for any new inductees/trainees and we think Lauren will learn a lot under the influence and guidance from Cristina & Murray). Murray topped this off with some outstanding culinary delicacies - it was a truly fantastic week, all when the weather wasn't the best we have experienced in Val. If you get the opportunity, please could you pass on our appreciation to the guys at Couchire. Very happy & quickly becoming overweight!

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, February 2016

We had a fabulous holiday as ever with YSE. The chalet was great and we were very lucky in that the other guests were really fun and interesting. Sam was a wonderful chef and Edie, our chalet girl, was gorgeous - a lovely personality together with being a good and intelligent conversationalist. She was totally attentive to everybody's needs. In a mixed group chalet I don't think it's always easy to serve a mixture of house wine and wines from John's wine list but she managed it seamlessly. Harry, our landrover driver, couldn't do enough for us - pick ups and drop offs on time, totally reliable, carried our skis ... fab! The only thing you could improve was the weather! Perhaps next time.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, February 2016

We're definitely coming back if Jen's going to be there! She's a lovely girl and a brilliant cook. Alex your repairman came in a flash when one of our party got locked in the loo! Also Giles and Steve at TDC are brilliant and Snowberry is the best ski shop ever. All perfect!

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, February 2016

Great holiday. Joey is a seriously good chef and a lovely bloke. His food is excellent. We wanted lighter puddings, he obliged. We loved the salmon, the beef, the passionfruit possett - absolutely everything. Tori was lovely and kept the chalet impeccably clean. We are definitely coming back!

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, February 2016

Just the most wonderful holiday. Lovely chalet, lovely staff, lovely fellow-guests, dodgy weather but still such fun. Sam is a fabulous chef, a phenomeanal cook, with great flair, lovely meals and incredible presentation. He's a lovely guy - so attentive. Edie is a gorgeous girl, such a lovely personality, 100% attentive, and she keeps the chalet spotless. Drivers Harry, Jason and James were so helpful. They carried our skis into and out of the chalet. Collected equipment we'd left at Snowberry, an amazing service!

 

Chalet de Pierre, February 2016

Adrian is a brilliant chef. We loved everything he served and we've brought home a folder of recipes! Favourites were the steak, pork, duck, all puddings, any canapés etc. Anna is lovely and friendly and has a constant smile, and she keeps the chalet perfect. We loved being able to ski back to the door.

 

Chalet La Maison du Rocher, February 2016

Scottie is a good bloke and an amazing chef. His food was all delicious and best of all were the beef, the duck, the pork, the ham, the first night butternut squash tart, the scotch eggs, the tartiflette canapé - everything! Emma was lovely, attentive, helpful and great, and kept the chalet spotless. Land Rover drivers Harry and James were efficient, punctual, helpful and fun.

 

Chalet La Couchire, February 2016

Murray's food was superb, outstanding and wonderful - better than five-star restaurants in London! No wonder Jamie Oliver liked it! We've never eaten so well. Murray is so calm and laid-back, yet has the cleanest kitchen we've ever seen. Our favourites were the pork belly, the beef wellington, the duck, the parfait - it was all amazing. Tory and Becky were lovely and kept the chalet so clean!

 

Chalet Juniper, February 2016

We've just returned from a week staying at your Juniper Chalet and just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our trip. From booking with the office in the UK to getting us to Val and looking after us in our Chalet and bringing us home again, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thanks to all of you.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, February 2016

The chalet girls were lovely, very helpful and personable. They work as a great team led by Katie who always goes the extra mile to help guests. Scottish's cooking is superb and you can see the effort and hard work that goes into every meal. The canapes were fabulous and the desserts were superb. A 1st class holiday and we loved the YSE service.

 

Chalet Juniper, February 2016

Stig's food was fantastic! We loved his duck curry and the pork belly. The girls were great and we enjoyed our week and will be coming back next year!

 

Chalet Jacaranda, February 2016

Hannah was amazing, friendly and great fun. We loved her food, and the pork belly was our favourite.

 

Chalet Jasmine, February 2016

Annabel's food was epic, just the best chalet food we've ever had. She is so professional and strikes a great balance between interacting with us and not. Jean Sport provided an amazing service with our skis. Overall a great week.

 

Chalet des Pistes, February 2016

We used Giles from TDC who gave us some great refresher lessons - just what we needed. We were very impressed with Chloe in Pistes, absolutely fantastic, really friendly and hard-working. The food was amazing - too much (in a good way!). The beef wellington was especially good. A superb week.

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, February 2016

Jessie and Hannah are an excellent team, always on time, helpful and accommodating - and the chalet was very clean and tidy. The food was absolutely fantastic, some of the best meals we've ever had, and we appreciated the adjusted timings to suit our party. The cakes were great and we thought some of the gluten-free cakes were better than ordinary cake. We loved the pork and the duck.

 

Chalet Thomily, February 2016

All the girls were first class. Daisy and Becky were friendly and welcoming and kept the chalet very clean. Jo's food was phenomenal. Everything was perfect!

 

Chalet des Neiges, February 2016

The chalet and staff were excellent - we cannot praise them highly enough. Magalie and Lara were absolutely excellent with our children which meant we were really able to relax. The food was of an exceptionally high standard and Josh has a bright future ahead of him! We were so impressed with the desserts we took photos of them. The children's meals were thoughtful adaptations of the adult dishes. We have no doubt we'll be booking again.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, February 2016

The team in Chardons are 1st class, lovely, very kind and they look after their guests very well. The food is delicious and we loved everything the kitchen team produced. Our favourites were the ham, chicken, beef, canapés, duck, passionfruit cheesecake.... all of it!

 

Chalet Jasmine, February 2016

Annabel is a very organised chef and we felt lucky to have her looking after us. The chalet was immaculate and the food was brilliant all week.

 

Chalet Jacaranda, February 2016

Our chalet staff were incredible, Hannah was excellent with the children and our family photos made the holiday even better. The food was amazing and we can't fault anything we had.

 

Chalet Juniper, February 2016

We had a brilliant team at Juniper. They create a great atmosphere and were excellent with the kids. The food in the chalet was the best we've ever had - the steak was amazing, not to mention Stig's duck curry!!!

 

Chalet Charlotte, February 2016

Freya and Lucy were great - we didn't want to leave them! Freya's food is 5-star and she was amazing catering for the diabetic in our group. A great time, love the new pillows!

 

Chalet La Couchire, February 2016

Christina and Charlotte could not have been more helpful if they tried, they were extremely helpful. Henny’s food was great with our favourites being the pea and ham soup and the chicken on the first night, but all the food was fantastic. Henny was very flexible with the food and provided lunch for our young children. We also appreciated Snowberry's driver service.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, February 2016

Thanks for a great holiday as always. I'm thinking that you must have a flare for selecting and training such smiling, friendly, and helpful staff, to say nothing of Scott the super chef! See you next year!

 

Chalet La Couchire, February 2016

Our stay has been great. La Couchire is extremely comfortable and Christina and Lucy are absolutely lovely - so professional and, without a doubt, a cut above the norm for chalet staff. And then there's Henny's cooking…. Quite simply, superb!

 

Chalet des Neiges, February 2016

The only issue in Neige is the amount of weight I am putting on with Josh's cooking!!! Chalet great, staff great, food amazing… ALL FANTASTIC!

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, February 2016

Helena and Becky were very nice and helpful. Our chef Sam was a geezer and a top lad and we couldn't believe his cooking given his age. All of the food was top quality and spot on. 10 out of 10.

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, February 2016

We are having an absolute ball of a time in Torsaï. Your staff are superb and even laugh at my bad dad jokes - they are a credit to YSE and I think you will have returning custom from us very soon. Cracking chalet and Le Fornet is a lovely hamlet and all is as described. Food and service best I have ever had anywhere so far. Please pass on our thanks to Joey and Tory; they really are a great couple of stars and work well in tandem, in fact I may steal chef Joey from you when you have finished at the end of the season! From all of our party thanks to all involved with our holiday!

 

Chalet Grand Torsaï, February 2016

Joey is a great chef and very accommodating, and Tory was lovely and worked very well with Joey, and we had great fun with both of them. Highlights of the week were the steak and the curry that we requested, and all the cakes and breakfast. We loved the location of the chalet and thought the bus service was great. John's CD on the bus was much appreciated and very informative for people new to Val d'Isère. Absolutely nothing to fault: a fantastic week and we will be coming back next year.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, February 2016

Jenny did a great job cooking and cleaning and we enjoyed all her cooking. The chalet is lovely and it was a really enjoyable holiday.

 

Chalet La Couchire, February 2016

Henny couldn't be faulted. We couldn't believe she stepped in at such short notice and produced such fantastic food. Lucy and Christina take great pride in everything they do and couldn't do more to help. The chalet was lovely and clean and we didn't want to leave! We also really appreciated the extra help given to the member of our party who was injured. The food was exceptional and our particular favourites were the pork, ham hock and beef. The boot warmers are excellent and we loved the chalet location, all in all a fabulous holiday

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, February 2016

A cracking week. Tom and Lucy are a great chef and a great host. They were exceptional and we absolutely loved them both. The chalet is lovely. The food was lovely from all the different kinds of eggs on offer at breakfast to the cakes and evening meals, especially the duck salad, pork belly and panacotta. It's a testament to Tom's skills that we were comparing him to a Michelin-starred restaurant.

 

Chalet Thomily, February 2016

Thank you for a great week, very contented! The food was first class and we were astonished by the professional standards acheived in a chalet kitchen. Jo and Kate are a fabulous team and the chalet was very clean and comfortable.

 

La Maison du Rocher, February 2016

The chalet was great and the log fire was lovely. Emma and Scotty very accommodating, non-intrusive, sharing a joke or a chat sometimes and getting on with things at others. It's a very smoothly run operation right from getting on the plane at Gatwick all the way through to the return home. Jason our driver was very helpful and would be there in five minutes whenever we needed him. The food in the chalet was exquisite and Scotty goes the extra mile, for instance when he made a birthday cake for one of our party. Nothing was too much trouble, and we loved having pancakes on pancake day. An awesome week.

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, February 2016

Nick and Anna in our chalet made the week, both are amazing and everything was spot on. Really helpful getting the drinks we wanted - Anna is a good rum-runner! Also our driver Guy was really helpful with getting us around town. Amazing week - YSE are really well organised.

 

Chalet de Pierre, February 2016

Our holiday gets top marks, 10 out of 10 and our chef Adrian's food gets 11 out of 10. It's a lovely chalet and location and the staff were wonderful, the rooms were always exceptionally tidy and it's the best chalet holiday we've had for years! Breakfast is such a highlight, especially the home-made marmalade, and all meals totally brilliant.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, February 2016

It was a good week, we loved Holly and Katie was wonderful - totally exceeded our expectations. We can't fault the staff, it was a great stay. Our chef Scottish is a legend, the food was constantly brilliant, even the porridge. Also the time of the flight and the organisation at the airport is unsurpassed - great value for money.

 

Chalet Les Chardons, February 2016

Staff fantastic, all lovely. Scot's food is amazing across the board. The canapés were particularly good.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, February 2016

Jenny and Ione in our chalet were very professional and had just the right level of interaction. We appreciate that compared to other chalet companies YSE leave you alone rather than being ever-present with reps checking all the time. The chalet was marvellous. One of our group was new to the chalet experience and had no idea the standard could be so high. The chalet white was particularly good for a house wine. We loved the duch and the salmon arancini. Really a cracking week.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, February 2016

The chalet staff were very obliging and our rooms were always cleaned. One of our party was ill and was very well looked after. The food was very good and the presentation was very impressive. We liked the chalet wine and the beef was a winner. Not all our party are dessert eaters so cheese was appreciated. We enjoyed the hot tub. Overall delighted!

 

Chalet La Croix, February 2016

Awesome chalet staff! We loved the cooking. It was all great. The beef en croute was amazing.

 

Chalet Thomily, February 2016

Kate and Jo were wonderful, excellent and accommodating. No complaints at all. Jo's cooking was a real treat and we enjoyed every meal. We loved the sauna in the chalet.

 

La Maison du Rocher, February 2016

Maison du Rocher is great for children, and Scotty's baby food was incredible - eg mini crème brulée! Anna was lovely and the two work brilliantly together.

 

Chalet Le Vieux Crêt, February 2016

Anna and Nick couldn't be better, really friendly and a great team. The food all week was fantastic. We appreciated the bacon rolls on Sunday morning!

 

Chalet La Moraine, February 2016

Our chalet staff Tom and Lucy were a brilliant team, we could not fault them, so efficient. Tom was amazing with our various dietary requirements as everyone had incredible meals. He deserved a round of applause at the end of every course! His Florentine roast was the highlight of the week.

 

Chalet Jasmine, February 2016

Libby and Annabel were really great and the food was wonderful, especially the beef!

 

Chalet Jacaranda, February 2016

Our food was very good, very typically YSE - what you do you do very well and this is our 12th YSE holiday so we keep coming back for more! Catherine our chef and chalet girl was very nice and extremely diligent, definitely the hardest-working chalet girl we've ever had. Her cake on the first night was incredible!

 

Chalet Juniper, February 2016

Sport 2000 ski shop was good and we appreciated the large YSE discount. Our chalet staff were brilliant, always smiling and friendly and the rooms were always kept clean and tidy. The food was very memorable, really delicious with great variety in the menu and just what you want after a hard day's skiing. We loved it all.

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, February 2016

Gee was spot on and really looked after us - she is excellent and we really enjoyed the chalet food. The beef was the best!

 

Chalet Charlotte, February 2016

We didn't want for anything all week, Holly and Freya were great and the chalet always looked lovely. The food was incredible, especially the duck, salmon and beef.

 

Chalet de Pierre, February 2016

Amy was an absolute sweetheart and looked after us so well. Amy and Adrian make a great team and are a pleasure to be around, and Adrian's food is first class. He's such a calm chef in the kitchen and very well organised. This was our 10th YSE holiday and this one was by far the best ski holiday we've ever had.

 

Chalet Jasmine, January 2016

I have just returned from a marvellous week in Val d'Isere in Chalet Jasmine. We had a delightful chalet girl, Libby, who looked after and cooked for us beautifully. I thought she and her meals from your excellent 5 week cooking course were a credit to YSE.

 

La Maison du Rocher, January 2016

All superb. Scottie is a brilliant chef and great fun, and Emma was lovely and keeps the chalet spotless. Snowberry excellent. The Grizzly Bar in Tignes is famous for its burgers but runs out of them every lunchtime!

 

Chalet La Croix, January 2016

Well you have a very special person in Flora in La Croix! A truly exceptional, interesting and dedicated lady. A big thank you to both of you! Everything is perfect. Driver Harry is a top lad and incredibly helpful. Again, thank you. Hope you are having as good a week as we are!

 

Chalet Chardons, January 2016

The Doctors' conference group appreciate how accommodating the YSE staff were, from our early breakfasts to the drivers giving us lifts to the conference, etc. They were delightful, competent and exceptional. One member of the party who was ill really appreciated that food was brought up to her room by Katherine who was lovely. Katie is an exceptional leader - incredibly accommodating and talented at dealing with guests and our various demands, some of which can be difficult. The food was gorgeous, a real 10/10, in fact it's the reason we keep coming with YSE. This was the best yet out of our 5 years travelling with YSE. The chocolate brownies are 'mind-blowing'. One request: more local wine please!

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, January 2016

Mattisse ski hire was excellent and even gave a reduction due to injury. Our chalet girl Gee was exceptional and really easy to get along with, and incredibly adaptable and unflappable especially when dealing with all of the variables that an injury throws into the mix, and she made it all much easier to deal with. Her food was excellent every night.

 

Chalet Grand Torsai, January 2016

Tory and Joey are the best chalet staff we have ever had, and Joey's food was the best food ever!

 

Chalet Jasmine, January 2016

Libby's food is amazing. She's always on time, very good at her job and it's a joy to see someone who enjoys cooking as much as she does. Also, we've been coming to Val d'Isère for years and the Clochetons is still our favourite restaurant.

 

Chalet de Pierre, January 2016

Adrian is a superb chef and everything he served was to die for. The salmon and the steak were the stand-outs. Anna was lovely as our chalet host and the two work brilliantly together and we couldn't fault anything they did.

 

Chalet Jacaranda, January 2016

We loved our week at Jacaranda. Catherine was fantastic, absolutely brilliant. We ate out at the Grand Ors which was wonderful food but not as good as Catherine's! Her beef was the most amazing meal of the week.

 

Chalet La Couchire, January 2016

The staff are a brilliant team, and we had an awesome holiday. The staff are seen but not heard and really know when to interact. Different groups of guests become friends very quickly. We all noticed the cleanliness of the chalet - not a speck of dust anywhere, and we couldn't believe it was only Becky's second week, she's so professional. Murray's cooking is 5* dining - the best chalet food ever.

 

Chalet Grand Torsai, January 2016

You have a brilliant team at Grand Torsai and Tory was particularly helpful when one of our party was injured. Joey is incredible and we'd like to take him home - the food has been amazing!

 

Chalet La Couchire, January 2016

Murray, Christina and Magalie will be a hard act to follow on our next chalet holiday. They worked tirelessly to make it the best chalet holiday ever. The chalet was spotless and the food was spectacular. The highlight of the week was the raspberry soufflé!

 

Chalet Juniper, January 2016

Brilliant staff, fantastic week, Stig's food was unreal - we'll be back just for his red duck curry!

 

Chalet La Croix, January 2016

Our chalet girl Flora was a pleasure to be around, nothing was too much trouble. We loved the food, every meal was great and the children loved it too - the cakes especially were amazing.

 

Chalet Jasmine, January 2016

Our chef Libby was great, she's a great cook and we loved the duck, strudel and Asian soup. All the YSE staff were very warm, friendly and hospitable, and the chalet was clean throughout the week. One request: more benches in the Grizny boot room please!

 

Chalet Squaw Valley, January 2016

Gee is truly brilliant and a very talented chef. She went out of her way to make us welcome, and is very efficient in how she runs the chalet and made it a home from home. Everything she cooked was amazing, we finished everything every night, and because we stayed for two weeks she altered her meals to fit in with our following week at Chardons.

 

Chalet Grand Torsai, January 2016

We felt very well looked-after and thought Joey and Tory make a great team. The food was absolutely spectacular, Joey even gives Scottish a run for his money!

 

Chalet Les Chardons, January 2016

Your staff are up to the usual standard - really brilliant, awesome, super, fantastic, lovely, efficient. Katie is an excellent manager and Hannah's smile brightened everyone's day. We give the food a 'thumbs up'! It's very impressive - the high standard of food is why guests continue to come with YSE. It could be considered too rich by some, and the portions are large, but all dietary requirements were excellently catered for. The pork belly, beef, sticky date pudding and canapés were the stand outs of the week. Just an extra note that the service at Medi-Val was excellent and much appreciated.

 

Chalet Thomily, January 2016

Ten out of ten - all great. Faultless. All meals were perfection. We will be back next year.

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, January 2016

Staff were brilliant, top drawer! Food was exceelent - must mention boeuf en croute, the pork, but all fantastic!

 

Chalet La Moraine, January 2016

Becky our chalet host was knowledgeable of the area and accommodating in the chalet - very pleased how clean and warm the chalet was. Tom's scrambled eggs are excellent, he has a special way of making them. Bascially all good! Carte Neige definitely worth getting. One of our group was rescued off the mountain and it would have cost about €800 otherwise. Thanks also to John for his help and advice with sorting out the broken knee.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, January 2016

Our chef Sam is a babe! Sweet and friendly, a very good chef and very diligent, and his kitchen is so clean. Alice was wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. She learnt all our names very quickly which was impressive. She's very organised. Jason the driver is brilliant, such a happy guy with a smile on his face even when we were hungover in the morning. He also did an excellent job with the hot tub which we used til 'silly o'clock' in the morning. The food was incredible and Sam is too modest about how he introduced each dish, saying 'oh it's just such and such' as if it was something ordinary, but it was amazing. Our veggies loved their food and didn't feel they were missing out. Highlights of the week: peanut butter cake and the parfait with banana. Special mention to Larry the Land Rover - it's a fantastic service and went the extra mile (oh dear). Love the heated seats.

 

Chalet Bozzetto, January 2016

Annabel was very good, very punctual and all her meals were 'on the money'. She worked very hard and maybe could do with some help, not that she was stressed but quite stretched and it meant she was concentrating so hard she had no time to chat to while she was working. Definitely not a criticism of Annabel - we were very happy!

 

Chalet Bozzetto, January 2016

We had a superb time in resort, lovely chalet and staff, easy transfers and great service. As a bonus the conditions in resort were magnificent so all in all we had an ideal week.

 

Chalet des Neiges, January 2016

Everything was lovely, just perfect, way over 100%! Our favourites were boeuf en croute and the mojito pudding. We should have photographed every dish.

 

Chalet des Pistes, January 2016

Chloe is very good, and her food, plenty of it and very good, especially the butternut squash tart.

 

Chalet des Pentes, January 2016

The chalet was absolutely spotless and Helena is polite, helpful and lovely. Really really delicious food - excellent.

 

La Maison du Rocher & Le Vieux Crêt, January 2016

Holly is very attentive and deserves a medal. Amy too - the chalet was spotless. Scottie's food was the best ever.

 

Chalet Juniper, January 2016

I have just returned from an amazing week in Val D'Isere with YSE. We, as a group had fantastic weather, food, service, accommodation and most importantly the perfect YSE experience. Personally, as a first time guest I will be back again, without doubt. Stig, Emma and Becky are a credit to the company, and great guys too. I wish them a great season.

From the YSE Facebook page

 

Chalet Charlotte, January 2016

We've just arrived home from a fantastic week in Chalet Charlotte. The whole experience was brilliant with Freya and Lucy really making the week perfect. The highlight of the chalet for us was the food which far exceeded our expectations and really was up there with any top restaurant. Freya is clearly very talented and her commitment to delivering a menu to such a high standard really made the trip special. Perfect skiing conditions always helps too!

From the YSE Facebook page

 

Chalet Bozzetto, January 2016

I searched through many companies and websites till I finally came across Alpine Answers who were helpful throughout the booking process. I was told my trip was booked with a company called YSE, whom I'd never heard of to be honest. Anyway, everything was finally booked and paid up, 2 weeks prior to our trip I get a call offering us a free upgrade to a 4 star chalet. Safe to say we took it. What a decision that turned out to be.
Just a quick note the transfers to and from Grenoble airport were quick and easy. The reps on the transfers were friendly, helpful and answered all our questions as best they could.
We were upgraded to Chalet Bozzetto, which I must say is a beautiful little chalet. It's in an apartment block with several others. It was for 6 people, we had our own locker for boards and skis as well as boot heaters. The chalet itself is 2 floors, it has a real ski lodge feel and just what you'd want as a home away from home. Catered obviously, since we've gone catered I don't think we'll ever go back. The open lounge, kitchen and dining area are a great size and easily enough for the 6 of us and the two chalet girls to move around freely. The beds were comfy and the sofas even more so. I know I'm repeating myself but I just loved the decor throughout.
The two chalet workers, Annabelle and Tory were fantastic. The chalet was consistently in pristine condition, no matter what mess we made, it was back to normal within minutes of leaving the room and returning. The food, well where do I start? The first meal of the day, breakfast was great, you literally had everything you could want, I requested croissants as extra and there they were every morning (freshly baked). We were definitely filled with energy for the day ahead.
Upon returning to the chalet after boarding some of the best conditions I've seen, we'd walk in to a different cake on the table everyday with some french stick, tea and coffee etc. The cakes were always moorish. My personal favourite would have to be the brownies.
Onto the evening and this is where it kicks up a notch, the canapés were a nice touch and always tasty. This was then followed by a wonderful 3 course meal, honestly I can't compliment the food enough, it was fantastic. The pork was a winner and on par with the last supper, the beef, wow. Obviously we knocked back a selection of red and white wines each evening, and good wines they were too.
Overall our stay was fantastic thanks to a beautiful chalet and it was made by Tory and Annabelle.
Thank you YSE.

 

Chalet de Pierre, January 2016

Sensational holiday, Adrian is a wonderful chef. His canapés are incredible, and his starters a work of art, as was all his food. He made chicken pancakes for people who don't eat duck. Such a charming host. Anna is helpful, kind and anticipates every request and has great social skills. We love Pierre and always stay there. The wine on the wine list were fabulous this time - especially the Condrieu.

 

Chalet des Pistes, January 2016

Chloe is lovely and her food is exceptional, especially the salmon fillet and boeuf en croûte. She is the perfect hostess, and adapted perfectly to our senior citizen idiosynchrasies!

 

Chalet des Neiges, January 2016

Josh's food is unbelievable - he worked incredibly hard - he's like a Michelin star chef and he cleans down his kitchen every time he leaves it, like a true professional. Polly and Laura were fun and friendly and the chalet was spotless.

 

Chalet La Grande Sassière, January 2016

Fantastic holiday! Sam's food is superb and he coped brilliantly with all the different diets and baked us a lovely birthday cake. Alice and Jason the driver are FAB. And the hot tub is bliss on snowy afternoons, and evenings and nights.

 

Chalet La Croix, January 2016

Flora was absolutely phenomenal, lovely, very mature for her age. She knew when to be part of the conversation and when not to. Worked well with her little sous chef and made guests very comfortable. Already booking for next year. Flora managed to cover for everyone’s needs excellently. We looked forward to every meal. Beef wellington was the highlight of the week. The chalet was comfortable - a brilliant week.

 

La Maison du Rocher, January 2016

Scotty was excellent, always happy and telling stories, and a 1st class chef. Amy is very smiley - couldn’t believe it's her first season! This was the best ever food with YSE, liked the portion sizes, the excellent breakfasts, couldn't have been better. All food unbelievable, all our requests were met, and the beef was the best night of the week. We loved the driver service. We don’t feel we can stay anywhere else now, we love YSE!

 

Chalet Thomily, January 2016

Jo and Kate were absolutely amazing, the best staff we have had on a chalet holiday ever! Very professional and they ran a seamless operation, could not fault anything the girls did. We appreciated the gluten-free bread, and the wine selection offered. We will be booking again with YSE.

 

Chalet Les Gnellets, January 2016

Jessie and Lucy are a great team and work well to provide a fantastic chalet holiday enjoyed by all! Jessie is a wonder in the kitchen and produced incredible food despite our group having almost every allergy and different diet request under the sun. Incredible cakes!

 

Chalet La Moraine, January 2016

Tom was fantastic - we couldn't believe he spent one entire day making a pudding. Both members of staff went above and beyond and accommodated our requests without any fus, and were fun to be around. The food all week was faultless and delicious, and the range was excellent - the best chalet food we've ever had.

 

Chalet Grand Torsai, January 2016

Joey is the best chalet chef we have ever had. He's quite quiet and very humble about his stunning food. Tory was helpful, the chalet was very tidy. Big square table is great for socialising. Over all it was the perfect chalet holiday!

 

Chalet La Couchire, January 2016

The staff in La Couchire are like a well-oiled machine - absolutley outstanding - though Murray ruined our day off - his food is so good we couldn't enjoy the food on the chalet staff night off as it was nowhere near as good! We've never had anything as good as Murray's cooking. His beef wellington was to die for.

 

Chalet Jacaranda, January 2016

Catherine is the best chalet cook we've ever had - she's one of the main reasons that this was one of our best holidays ever. It was our first time with YSE and we will be booking again. The food was incredible and everything was catered for.

 

Chalet Charlotte, January 2016

Super chef! And a very clean chalet - our best chalet holiday ever. It was such a lovely week - absolutely perfect from start to finish. We couldn't believe we could get food that good in a chalet.

 

Chalet Juniper, January 2016

Everything was excellent and the staff were very polite and pleasant to be around - we were impressed by how tidy they were. Stig's cooking is 10 out of 10.

 

Chalet des Pentes, January 2016

Just a quick message to thank you and your team very much for looking after us both before and during our holiday last week, in particular, Katie and Livvie in the office and Tori and Juey in the chalet. Tori and Juey were excellent – the food and company that they provided was superb and they looked after us and our noisy children excellently. Please do pass on our thanks and regards.

 

Les Chardons, January 2016

I was invited to dinner tonight by Dave and Sue D who are staying with you for two weeks, and I must say it was the best meal I've had all season. The canapés were excellent, the starter was very good, the main was great and the potatoes were brilliant, and the dessert was yummy, as were the chalet girls! All in all it was a fantastic evening and the staff were polite and very pleasant.

Wayne Watson, Alpine Experience Ski School

 

Chalet des Pentes, January 2016

Our chalet hosts Tori and Amy were so good - those girls deserve a payrise! make sure you let them know how good they are.

 

Chalet Le Vieux Cret,January 2016

Everything amazing. Chalet Vieux Cret like a home from home. Land Rover service a godsend with 4 kids!

 

Les Chardons, December 2015

Just back from a week at Les Chardons, where Kate and her team were brilliant; not just delivering great food and service but happy to share their own excitement at the beginning of a season which, for many, was their first. Well done everyone!